The NASACR Whelen Modified Tour will travel to the tight confines of the ¼ mile Riverhead Raceway in Riverhead, N.Y. on Saturday June 4,  for the Miller Lite 150.

      The 150 lap length is significant as every race at Riverhead since 1992 has been contested at a distance of 200 or 201 laps. Rick Fuller, a two time winner at Riverhead, thinks the new race distance will affect strategy.

   “It will definitely be a different kind of race.” said Fuller. “Drivers won’t be saving their tires as much. You will see hard racing for every lap.”

    The races at Riverhead always feature a battle between the starts of NASCAR’s oldest open wheeled touring series and the “Riverhead Regulars” who call the Long Island oval their home every Saturday night. Those drivers compete in NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series modified racing each week at Riverhead.

   “I really enjoy racing at Riverhead”, said Fuller. “I always have and we always seem to run pretty good there.”

   Fuller, the 1993 Whelen Modified Tour champion currently, sits seventh in the series standings after two events behind the wheel of the Polar Beverages Pontiac.

   “We’ve been happy with the way the car has run so far, said Fuller. “We just need a little luck to go our way.”

   The last time the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour raced a 150 lap distance at Riverhead was 1991. That event was actually 151 laps. The winner was Rick Fuller and it was the first of his two series wins at Riverhead.

      The Miller Lite 150 is scheduled to get the green at approximately 8:30. A filed of 28 cars is scheduled to start the event.


Ø      Bud Pole Qualifying is scheduled for 5:45 on June 4. The fastest 23 cars
will earn a starting position.

Ø       Five provisional starting positions (Two based on 2004 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour owner points, two on driver points and one past champion) will bring the starting field to 28 cars.

Ø      The Miller Lite 150 is scheduled to start at approximately 8:30 p.m. Posted Awards are $71,195

Ø       The qualifying record at Riverhead is 11.562 secondsØ (77.949 mph) set by Chuck Steuer on 6/10/00.

Ø      The Miller Lite 150 is the first of two series appearances for the Whelen Modified Tour at Riverhead in 2005. 
Ø      The following current series drivers have wins at Riverhead:  John Blewett, III (1), Ted Christopher (1), Tommy Cravenho (1), Eddie
Flemke (1), Rick Fuller (2), Donny Lia (2)  Jerry Marquis (2), Reggie Ruggiero (2) and Mike Stefanik (6)

Ø      Ed Brunnhoelzl, Don Howe,  Dan Jivanelli,  Donny Lia and Bob Park  all scored their first Whelen Modified Tour victories at Riverhead.

Ø      Jerry Marquis is the defending champion of this event.

Source:  Mark Mockovak/NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour PR
Posted:  June 1, 2005


©2000-2005 Pack Ventures, Inc.