DAYTONA BEACH, FLA. – (June 21, 2005) The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour travels to the Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, June 25th for the first of two races this season at the historic 3/8 mile Connecticut shoreline oval.
Eddie Flemke of Southington, Conn. is the defending champion of the Whelen Modified 150 and he is hoping to repeat in Saturday’s 150 lap race.
His victory last year featured one of most thrilling finishes of the season as he passed 6-time series champion Mike Stefanik on the last lap.
“Anytime you finish in front of Mike Stefanik you’ve done something,” said Flemke. “Winning the race on the final lap was very memorable.”
Flemke is a two time winner at Waterford and the only active driver with more than one victory.
“I really enjoy racing at Waterford, “ said Flemke. “The track is great to race on. Waterford has tremendous fans and the atmosphere is just the way a Saturday night race track should be.”
This will be the first race at Waterford for Flemke with his new car owner Gary Teto and the Ron Bouchard Auto/Red Line Oil/ Premier Kitchens Chevrolet race team.
“We’re hoping to have a good night, said Flemke. “The key is to qualify well and start up front. The races on these short tracks can be very tough. You have to put yourself in a position to win right from the start.”
The Whelen Modified 150 is scheduled to get the green at approximately 8:30 p.m. Over 40 teams are expected to attempt to qualify for one of the 30 starting positions.


Ø Bud Pole Qualifying is scheduled for 5:00 p.m. to determine positions
1-25. The fastest qualifier will determine the redraw of the Top 6, 8 or 10
cars. Four provisional positions - based on the 2005 NASCAR Whelen Modified
Tour season point standings (two driver, two car owner) - and a past champion
provisional is available for a maximum starting field of 30 cars.

Ø The race is scheduled to start at approximately 8:30

Ø Posted awards for the Whelen Modified 150 are $75,135.

Ø The Whelen Modified 150 is the first of two appearances for the NASACR
Whelen Modified Tour at the Connecticut shoreline 3/8 mile oval in 2005.

Ø Fifteen series races have been held at Waterford. Winners are listed
along with the year.
• Rick Donnelly 1985.
• Ray Miller 1985
• Mike McLaughlin 1986 and 1989
• Jimmy Spencer 1987
• Jerry Marquis 2000
• Reggie Ruggiero 2001
• Eddie Flemke 2001 and 2004
• Dave Berghman 2002
• Ted Christopher 2002
• Rick Fuller 2003
• Chuck Hossfeld 2003
• Todd Szegedy 2004

Ø The series qualifying record at Waterford is 13.630 seconds (99.046) set
by Chuck Hossfeld on May 10, 2003

Ø Two second generation drivers will be attempting to qualify for their
first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race. Matt Hirschman son of defending series
champion Tony Hirschman and Chris Pasteryak son of veteran campaigner Charlie
Pasteryak will both try to secure one of the 30 starting positions.

Source:  Mark Mockovak/NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour PR
Posted:  June 22, 2005


©2000-2005 Pack Ventures, Inc.